Permission – Not Needed.

35H

One of the biggest realizations I’ve had during my adult life is recognizing that if I want to do something… I can do it.

Of course, there are certain things that one cannot do based on laws, morals, and whatnot; however, I’m going to go ahead and assume that most of us are standup citizens therefore the things we want to accomplish don’t have these restrictions 😉

But I digress.

If you follow my Facebook page, you may have noticed that I recently made the announcement to expand my blog to cover various lifestyle topics. If you don’t follow my Facebook page… rude… but just look above and you’ll see what I’m talking about.

I really debated on this expansion for quite a while and you know why? It’s silly when I type it out but I debated merely because I didn’t have experience in writing about fashion, book reviews, whatever.

I told you it was silly – I debated on following a passion of mine simply because I didn’t have experience in it.

It reminds me of when I tried to find work as a server at a restaurant about 10 years ago and they told me they wouldn’t hire someone without restaurant experience.

How in the world did they expect you to get experience if every single place wanted experience before they hired you?

Anyway, a few weeks ago, I was tossing and turning over the idea of this expansion and I thought and I thought and I thought until the realization hit me like a ton of bricks – The realization that if I wanted to do it, I could just do it. 

It was as simple as that.

Nobody needed to give me permission to do something that I have the drive and passion to do. Nobody said I needed to have extensive experience in writing on certain topics before I could even think about blogging about them.

Nobody said that I couldn’t do something simply because that’s not the way it was done in the past.

It reminds me of this quote that’s used a lot in business, “The most dangerous phrase in the language is ‘we’ve always done it this way,” and how insanely true.

If we all lived our lives believing that new ideas are to be avoided and perhaps even feared, we would never have the pleasure of seeing anything innovative, breathtaking, or exciting happen.

Some of the best things in life were made by those who believed they could… and then they did it. They didn’t wait for someone else to make history. They didn’t ask permission or others what they thought of their kooky (yet brilliant) ideas. They just did it.

And that’s the crazy thing – You can too.

We don’t need to just read about these visionaries in biographies and documentaries. These visionaries can be us –  We just need to allow ourselves to break outside of the box and just go for it.

Stop waiting for someone else to come up with big ideas.
You don’t need to change the world, you just need to change your life.

I’m about to hit you with another cliche (cue the eye roll) but you’re the one who is in charge of your future.

Nobody else.

Take risks and make the changes that will make you happy.

If you want to start a blog, do it.
If you want to go to culinary school, do it.
If you want to write a book, do it.
If you want to do something (within reason, obvi) then do it.

Nobody, and I mean nobody, needs to give you permission.
Follow your heart and your happiness will follow.

Leave a Reply

