Don’t Quiet That Little Voice

108H

Sooo… Remember about 6 months ago when I published my most popular post, “What Do You Do When Your Dream Job Doesn’t Turn Out to Be Your Dream?

You know the one – My entire life, I dreamed about being an Advertising Rockstar but once it happened, I realized it wasn’t for me. I felt lost, confused, stressed, and as if I was someone I didn’t like anymore. It was dumb. Okay, it was more than dumb. It was horrible.

Approximately 3 days after I published that post, I accepted a job at another advertising agency.

Yes, you read that correctly.

Once I left my old job, I took about a week off to decompress and then I began doing the unemployment dance. 7 applications to the left, shuffle, ball change, and 3 grad school applications to the right.

One, just one, of these applications was for an ad agency (my current place of employment) while all of the other applications were in different fields. I’m not sure why I applied but perhaps it was because advertising is what I know, it’s what i’m good at, and it’s how I’ve spent most of my adulthood. Regardless, I interviewed and ultimately, I accepted it.

To be totally honest with you, I was unsure of whether or not I should take it, considering I just made a big show of getting out of the industry. I thought about what others would think about my choices and my credibility.

I went back and forth with my decision until I decided to go for it. I can’t explain why other than the fact that it felt like something I wanted to explore further. This position was different than my previous one in the industry, it gave me more creative freedom, and it was intriguing. Plus, I knew that no decision is ever final.

Despite everything I felt merely days earlier, I followed this deep little feeling inside that said, “Try it” so you know what? I did.

And this decision turned out to be a powerful one.

It has been 6 months in this position now and I haven’t looked back.

That little voice inside of me, the very same one that many of us hush up, lead me to accept a job that has taught me so much. Because of that voice, I’ve met coworkers who have become wonderful friends and I’ve stretched my mind and my boundaries far beyond places they’ve been before.

I get such a thrill helping clients utilize “unimportant” social platforms in a way that shows them how these same platforms assist them in reaching their business objectives. I get to show them how to bring a social personality to their messages. How to find their strengths and showcase them in a way that their target audience understands. And that’s just the beginning.
(Don’t worry, I’m going to save you from more digital marketing jargon)

I followed a feeling that I had, despite all of the logic that I had grounded myself in, and I showed myself that the past doesn’t have to repeat itself. 

What I’m trying to say is that I didn’t shut up that little voice and it has made all the difference.

Through this experience, I’ve learned that sometimes, denying yourself opportunities based off of assumptions isn’t what’s best for you. Sometimes you need to go all in, just once more, to see what happens.

To my surprise, my happiness wasn’t found on a completely different path, like I thought it would’ve been. I followed my heart and I found that I just had to veer a bit from the path I was on.

Life isn’t always easy and sometimes things don’t go the way you expect but you have to rely on your instincts. If there’s one little piece of you that’s telling you to try, then you owe it to yourself to try. It doesn’t matter what others think, what you think could happen, etc.

If you want to try, then try. 

Fortune favors the brave so stop playing it safe, stop denying yourself opportunities because of what could happen, stop hushing that voice inside of your head that’s telling you to try once more.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Quiet That Little Voice

Leave a Reply

